Unlimited to Limited Atonment

As posted before I have been reading Driscoll’s latest offering; Death By Love. It has been an emotional and revealing journey with much to think about, much to consider in my own life and the ministry I do. It will definitely require a second read before the end of the year.

But one of the facets of the atonement that it raises is the long standing debate about the totality and effect of the atonement. It is for all people, or just those God has chosen. Is it limited or unlimited. The classic Arminianism v Calvinism debate.

Driscoll promotes a third view in writing to his youngest son, Unlimited Limited Atonement, which sounds a bit like having your cake and eating it too. In seeking to come to my own view, I wish to explore this more myself (but not till I finish my last exam and re-write and essay). But to get the discussion rolling I thought I might just get it out there and ask all of you out there on the intertron to share your own thoughts.

NB: In approaching this topic I want to make clear that I believe all positions fit the revelation we have in the bible and this is what makes it so hard. I also believe the conversation needs to be done in love and that holding any of these three positions makes you not saved by Jesus. And if you have no idea what I’m talking about, don’t worry just enjoy the ride!

This entry was posted in christianity, theology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Unlimited to Limited Atonment

  1. Dave Miers says:

    youse are all idiots if you don’t believe what i believe

  2. Dave Miers says:

    I also believe the conversation needs to be done in love

    sorry didn’t notice this guide the first time around.

  3. Dave Miers says:

    btw – for the record, i agree with carson on this one. look at page 84-90 ‘the love of God and the intent of the atonement’ in his book ‘the difficult doctrine of the love of God’

    it’s gold.

    i might blog it next week…

Leave a Reply

