Resolved to Change

Is the way we seek to change right?

So often when we are struggling with something, we resolve to change our actions, we make targets and and try hard to change. But this is a mistake.

Many times, I myself have sought to change but in the end feel like a leopard trying to get rid of his spots.

In reflection on a conversation I recently had, resolving to change just doesn’t work, we either feel guilty because we fail, or we become proud when we succeed. So what is the solution?

Repentance. We need to sort out what’s going on, what needs pruning and changing. We need to come to Jesus and confess our wrongdoing.

For me I’ve reflecting on my own life, and i find being self controlled with doing study hard. Effectively it’s laziness. And I need to repent of it rather than resolve to work hard and be disciplined.

But the next question is; What does repentance look like?

What do you think?

This entry was posted in christianity, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Resolved to Change

  1. Natalie says:

    What does repentance look like? Well the word repent in Greek is metinoya. Metinoya means a change in the way we think.

    *Repentance refers to a change of mind and feeling or a change of principal and practice, to reverse the past. It’s not just an emotional response, not just conviction,and not just reformation.

    It is to turn away from your sin. And we have that ability because of the blood of Jesus.

    Romans 8 gives and awesome explaination how to live by the spirit. I encourage you to read it. To be a disciple we must be disciplined…The flesh is weak but the spirit is willing. Crucify that flesh! Fight off the temptation to be lazy…Whatever the circumstance is, be obedient to the holy spirit…the Lord will give you grace. But you have to do your part.

    I hope this helps! Be blessed!

  2. Duke says:

    Hey Natalie,
    I know the theology of repentance and its meaning, but thanks for encouragement. I’ve been studying Romans at bible college and its been great.
    I guess I wasn’t clear in my question. I think I was more thinking about, what is repentance going to look like for me on a practical level? Like you said, there is a need to do our part in it, We cant just expect God to change us as we do nothing.
    I recognise my laziness and I need to turn away from it, do a you turn and instead be diligent and faithful to the tasks set before me. But at heart I’m a pragmatist, and I like to think; in what ways can I change what I do to help me in repenting? For example, it might mean finding someone to work with and keeping each other accountable, changing the layout of my room to either foster study, or leave my room to do study. They are just a couple of ideas, they in themselves don’t result in repentance but combined with the Spirit’s work in my life, making these changes can only help.
    Do you get what I’m trying to say?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

