Music Monday: Joe Day

I enjoy music, but sometimes I don’t enjoy music when I’m at church, this isn’t because the band is bad, but often because the songs are boring musically. I know I could start a whole debate on worship wars and that’s not my intention in this post.

Joe Day (52 Songs guy) from Mars Hill Church in seattle has produced an album, Grace, that I personally enjoy. It is musically interesting and theologically dense, with many songs being old school hymns, and while I admit that performing these songs may not work within some congregations, it does well to push the envelope of what we consider to be ‘worship’ songs.

My favourite song on the album would have to be the opening track, Death to Life. It is a poignant reminder of how Jesus has saved us from death and given us life. As dead people we are unable to save ourselves and need a saviour to bring us life. This is all by grace.

The other reason I want to share is that you can get it for free from Noisetrade. You cant get much better than free and if you don’t like it you only got what you paid for!

This entry was posted in christianity, church, music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music Monday: Joe Day

  1. Matt Jacobs says:

    I’ve got one of the songs from that … ‘Passover’ I think it’s called? Seemed pretty cool.

    The thing that’s really starting to bug me lately is the same formula for every song:

    Verse 1
    Verse 2
    Chorus
    Verse 1 or 2 again
    Chorus
    Bridge
    Chorus – quiet
    Chorus – loud

    every song. oh, and the same chords (and if it’s in a different key, use a capo) Cadd2, Dsus (and/or D, and/or D/F#), Em (or Em7), G.

  2. dave miers says:

    hey matt – you’re starting to get cranky in your old age!!! haha ;)

    ps – duke – i dig the album too

Leave a Reply

